a multigenerational business – I love it!

Who among the female readers of this blog do not love purses?  I sure the heck do and in Superior, CO, where I live, there is a local mom who gets my business.  Beth Shogrin is owner of Biscuit Bags.  She has an amazing eye for mixing patterns and colors and I love her creations – different sizes, styles, fabrics – her work is fabulous!

For mother’s day this year, I got my mom one of her waterproof bags – perfect for aquatics workouts and lazy days at the pool.  And I have given friends a variety of different bags – totes to evening bags.  And while talking with Beth one day, I learned that her Mom is a part of her business!  Viola – a multigenerational business!

To honor another aspect of multigenerational lifestyles, Beth has graciously offered a reader of our blog a $50 credit towards one of her bags.  And dare I say what you are probably already thinking – the holidays are around the corner and it is never too early to think about gifts for the fashionable (or not so fashionable) women in your life! 

To enter the drawing, leave a comment below and share the following:
“What is the oddest thing that you carry in your purse?”

The drawing will be held on September 25.  Good luck!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by julie kraft on September 20, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Right now a ziplock bag full of Silly Bandz! Not so unusual since they’re so popular but I looked pretty silly at a corporate dinner tonight pulling them out to find my wallet! Glad my CEO is a grandpa and knows what it’s like to have little ones around.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laura McGaffick on September 21, 2010 at 12:58 am

    Well, when I think back on all of the odd things that I have carried in purses or bags throughout my years, I am reminded of the days when diapers and then panties took up most of the space. But now that my girls are older, my days of being their “sherpa” are not over. I think that the strangest thing that I have in my purse, this very moment, is the ear of a beloved stuffed animal that I had promised to repair a while ago. I don’t remember how it got there or what the circumstances were that caused it to be separated from its owner but, there it remains, at the bottom, among receipts and cookie crumbs…

    Reply

    • Ahhhh – those diaper bag days are wild – I found a bike pump at the bottom of my diaper bag once – hav NO idea how it got there…. I have not heard of a stuffed animals ear before – that is unique!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Tricia Brzostowicz on September 21, 2010 at 5:32 am

    I’m not sure how strange this is but I keep church offering envelopes in my purse…you know the ones I forget to leave in the collection plate each week. They’re really handy for restaurants and waiting in lobbies. The kids love to draw on them and send people “letters”.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kelly cooper on September 21, 2010 at 7:12 am

    the oddest thing? I don’t think I have anything that odd, I think its all neccesary! but as I look through my purse and investigate I see that I have 8 nail files and 4 chapsticks and this is where every pen in the house went to – time to clean this thing out! Some ppl might think that my boyscout flashlight that is self winding/charging or maybe the toothbrush and toothpaste is odd.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Megan D. on September 21, 2010 at 7:17 am

    The oddest thing found in my purse would be honey. Everything else seems to make sense or at least compliment another crazy item in there, but the honey is to me what splenda is to another! Got to have it to sweeten drinks!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michele Schiavone on September 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I always keep character Band-aids in my purse… currently Sponge Bob, Tiana and Elmo are joining me everywhere I go. The fact that Band-aids are a standard item in my handbag will seem completely weird to everyone except other parents. I can’t tell you how often I’ve given them to other mommies at the playground whose kiddos get owwies. They’re super handy to have around!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Vicki on September 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Cute bags! I love bags. Gotta have one for work, for the gym, for the farmer’s market, etc. Oddest thing I carry – well, I don’t think it’s odd, but I have to have dental floss in the purse. Ya know, after going out to lunch, flossing is a must!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jenn Trujillo on September 21, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I’ll start by saying that my current bag is not even close to being as cute as a Biscuit Bag and I feel like I might be the only lady in Superior that doesn’t own one yet. I did bid on one at SES though. Anyway, I like to refer to my bag as the “pit of despair” (yes, Princess Bride reference there). The oddest thing I have in it right now are 2 dried up old plum pits from Evan’s mid soccer game snack last week (throwing those away as we speak) and a Halloween Pez dispenser (empty of course).

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kathleen on September 21, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    The 3 “oddest things” currently in my purse:
    1) silly bands- they make my son happy, but as a teacher I HATE THEM (huge distractions in class), still they find there way into my bag
    2) vitamin e oil- prosthetic eye necessity. Strange, but true!
    3) (embarrassingly) a half eaten cookie in a Panera napkin. Time to get that out of there!
    All this amongst the “normal” things 🙂 LOL

    Reply

  10. The weirdest thing I carry around in my purse is scissors. I may see a string hanging off of a shirt that needs to be cut right away. Oh, and I might need to cut my bangs while on the go too! You just never know. But they are super handy to have!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Nawatsie Tyars on September 24, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    The oddest thing I carry in my purse is a little plastic lid that I do not know where it came from or what product it covers. I keep thinking I will have the time to match it up with its owner but that has not happened, so I am keeping it just incase. Now that my daughter made me start recycling, I think every little item need to be in its place or at the recycling center.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Rachel on September 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Thanks for making me dig through my purse. I just found my favorite lipstick that had been missing for weeks! Other than that, I found a window shade for the car (the kind that sticks onto the window)that I had been meaning to put in the car for a long time, a button w/ “Earth Cadet” written on it, and some old cheerios.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

