Giveaway: Magic Dice (educational fun)

Family game night is a tradition we’re slowly developing in our multigenerational household. With my mother-in-law cooking dinner on most weeknights, our evenings, after a full day of work, can be fairly leisurely. We try to set aside at least one evening per week (and if no one is on work travel) to play games as family. Because we have an age range amongst the five of us, the types of games we play vary greatly.

My daughter received Magic Dice – Multiplication for her birthday, and it’s been very fun to watch her play this game with her little brother. No, he doesn’t really get it, but he enjoys his sister’s attention.

Because many of us are in the back-to-school mode, I thought the Magic Dice games (addition and multiplication) might be something you lovely readers would like for a giveaway.

Bambini is giving away an addition and multiplication game to 2 lucky it’s a full nest readers (one game per winner).

Enter to win by leaving a comment about how your family is getting the kids ready (and maybe the adults) to return to school. You can also tell us your favorite game(s) to play as a family.

Please leave your comment by midnight MST – Friday, September 3, 2010.

US mailing addresses only.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on August 27, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Ahhh…the LIST… well this year I’ve been quite fortunate (almost). The classroom list consisted of the usual items such as, kleenex, paper towels, bleach wipes, hand sanitizer. But our darling 1st grader now has to have composition notebooks (no problem), pocket folders without prongs (had to do a bit of digging to find those), lots of pencils, and handheld pencil sharpeners. You would think that would be an easy find….but NNNNOOOOOO. Apparently handheld pencil sharpeners are extinct!!!! Really? Seriously, I can go to one store and find everything I need but must go to 3 stores to find handheld pencil sharpners. I was too fit to be tired that day.

    Thank goodness we were able to recycle last year’s backpack but we did get a cool new lunch bag (pink & chocolate brown with peace signs all over it). I dig it!!!

    I’d love to win the game – we usually have game night one night a week too – it’s my favorite night of the week!

    Reply

    • First grade – such a sweet year in school. I thought most classrooms had those electric pencil sharpeners now. You’ve got me thinking – when was the last time I’ve seen a handheld pencil sharpener? Hmmm…

      Reply

  2. Posted by Betsy Wier on August 28, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Getting ready for school was a process this year because it was Kindergarten – procuring all the uniform pieces took a lot of patience. School supplies were alright, I had difficulty finding the fatter pencils – had to go to 3 stores for that requirement. New Backpack and lunch box with a kitty on them but apparently another kid in the class has the same – darn!

    I love games! We play a lot of games at home and on camping trips. Now that my daughter can recognize numbers, we have had a blast playing UNO, Old Maid, War, and so on. My daughter loves the memory type games too (she always wins against my aging brain). This summer on our camping trips we played card games in the tent while it rained – good way to pass the time. My favorite game is scrabble, can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to play. Recently I played a fun Scrabble card game with a colleague while working in Kenya – you start with a 4 letter word and build on top of it to change the word as fast as you can until one person is out of cards/letters. My suggestion to Scrabble would be to make it 5 letter words, that would be more of a challenge.

    Back to writing this grant proposal………I spent the last four days sweating buckets in Haiti collecting the field information, we better win the grant after all that effort!

    Cheers,

    Betsy

    Reply

    • I wish my kids wore uniforms to school – that would be lovely.
      Oh – those primary pencils – I love those. I better purchase some now…to be ready for kindergarten (2 more years…).

      Reply

  3. Posted by Kioni on August 28, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    My soon-to-be 3rd grader and I have been preparing for school all summer – starting w/ summer school. She went to summer school 4 hours a day Mon-Thurs to make sure she remembered all she’d learned this past school year

    We also do lots of fun educational games/activities on the web to keep her sharp in the math and science areas.

    Lastly, while shopping for school supplies, which consisted of the usual pencils, colored pencils, markers, paper, etc she also had to have multiplication flash cards. I didn’t know where to find those, but a friend pointed me to the $1 store- perfect! So I bought those and a few workbooks too- I mean they were only $1, I couldn’t resist! So I’m hoping to win the contest to see how these will be beneficial and maybe a little different than the flash cards.

    Looking forward to 9/1 for her first day back!

    Reply

    • What a productive summer!
      She doesn’t go back to school until 9/1? Nice long summer – that is fantastic.
      I’m addicted to the dollar store for bath toys (which are actually kitchen items) and office supplies. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Laura McGaffick on August 30, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Well, for us, getting ready for school has been a process since July! Being the children of a teacher, my girls have spent a great deal of their summer at the school getting ready. I think that it helped them – especially my kindergartener! The dollar store and the dollar section at Target have been especially helpful in supplying all of the “little” things.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Tia on August 31, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Getting ready for school was complicated by several things for us this year. First of all, we came back from a 3 week vacation on Sunday and classes started Tuesday (I do not recommend). Then, this year I have all three kids in one school. A blessing, but a full plate. With a fifth grader, third grader and kindergartener, there were so many needs. Now, there are so many schedules to remember. I have a list up for each child listing the day of the week and her particular daily tasks (ie library day, soccer, guitar lessons). It helps them (and me!) stay saner. Or saner anyway.

    I also have 3 cubby holes in my laundry room, one for each kid. This houses things we don’t want to misplace during the week (read library books, upcoming homework assignments). Later it will also house hats and mittens.

    We are still getting on track, but every day is a little more put together.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tricia Brzostowicz on August 31, 2010 at 10:40 am

    My family and I love games. We’ve been playing monopoly, Life, Ladybug game, Sorry and Trouble. We also love reading so we do lots of reading together in the evenings to calm down for bedtime…it helps everyone stay up to speed and be entertained!

    Reply

  7. September 7, 2010

    Congratulations, Betsy W. and Laura M.!
    You both are the winners in the Magic Dice GIVEAWAY!
    Please send your mailing address to us: itsafullnest@yahoo.com.

    Thank you, everyone, for entering.
    Have a great September!

    Don’t want to miss out on another giveaway?
    Be sure to subscribe to http://www.itsafullnest.com to keep current.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

