GIVEAWAY – Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle (children’s book)

by Kanesha

I’m looking forward to reuniting with my precious offspring after their vacation away with my mother-in-law. Then it will be time for our nuclear family – summer vacation.

Hubby and I always make sure we have time for the four us to be together, separate from our multigenerational living arrangement. This “separate” vacation offers us some breathing room, maintains healthy boundaries, and allows us to spend quality time with our kids.

I would be telling a lie if I didn’t say I needed time away from my mother-in-law. I’m no saint! (I won’t speak for my hubby.)

My mother-in-law also needs some time to herself and for herself. We all believe in having a healthy balance to keep our multigenerational household functional.

Since we are heading to the beach for part of our vacation, the kids and I have been reading books about the beach.  Currently we are reading Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle. It’s a gorgeous book about a girl living on an island and her adventures in caring for a sea turtle. The other feature of this book we love so much is that it’s written in English, Spanish and French!

I had a chance to talk with Nicole Weaver about this book and also about her charitable work to support Haiti.

Nicole Weaver talks about her book

Click here for more information about Nicole Weaver.

We are giving away one copy of this book, signed by the author; to a lucky it’s a full nest reader chosen at random.

To enter, leave a comment about your summer vacation plans. If it’s a multigenerational vacation, we’d love to hear about that too.

Enter by midnight MST, Friday, July 2. Open to U.S. mailing addresses.

Good luck. ¡Buena suerte! Bon chance!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Betsy Wier on June 28, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Our summer vacation plans…

    I have had a lot of work travel in June and another trip in early July (Istanbul and Nairobi) – and so I blocked out vacation time for us in late July and August. In late July Paloma and I will be camping – one trip close to home and the other to Lake City in Southern Colorado (Sangre de Cristo mountains). We had fun buying a tent, sleeping bags and well…we will just borrow the rest!! I wanted to take Paloma to a beach but after all of my work travel, the thought of getting on a plane makes me sick!! We will just have to be satisfied with road trips. I cant wait to be done with all this work!

    Cheers,

    Betsy and Paloma

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dorelle ackermann on June 28, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Hello ,
    Not sure how I got on this chain other than I have great admiration for Kanesha who sente an email and two text messages.
    I am presently vacationing in Colorado with my 14y.o. Daughter and that’s enough multigrnerstional for me. Being an older parent I’m no longer sandwiched because all parents are now deceased. My dd has no connection with grandparents anymore. Sad. I give her presents from them each year in the hopes of keeping theemories alive.
    One advantage of being older is that I qualify for multigrnerstional trips with elderhostel. These trips are designed for grandparents and grandchildren but we fit right in. I can’t praise the experience enough and if anyone is reading this…. Consider sending your older and younger generation off and enjoying yourbown alone time. They should have a blast and it’s educational. I did the Icarus mystery adventure. We were immersed in the local culture that was highlighted in a historic novel and then asked to write the ending. The kids did all the work in my group and won first place. Can’t believe they got souch out of the class presentations when the didn’t appear to be paying attention.
    Dorelle
    Friend of Kanesha from Thornridge hs

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nawatsie Tyars on June 29, 2010 at 2:06 am

    What a mutigenerational weekend we are having here in Georgia and Florida. Left Ga on Thursday for a family reunion in Fl with My husband’s family which included his mother, one sister, one brother and his wife, one nephew and a host of nieces and grandnieces. We also visited my mother-in-law’s aunt who is 90+ years young while we were still in FL.. She was really in great shape and fun and interesting to discuss issues and bonding with her was easy. Now it is Monday night and we are back at my house in GA cooking fish, peach cobbler, corn on the cob, spaghetti and meat sauce and tomato/okra/mushroom soup, sweet tea, lemonade and it’s all good like we are the Ewing family on Dallas at Northfork. I am loving it and is about to go to my bedroom and sleep with my mother-in-law while my husband sleeps on the sectional because we still have six other family members in the three guest bedrooms. Well, I think I could enjoy living with these people in a multigenerational home because it was a lot of fun today cooking, eating, and cleaning the kitchen and socializing. I started to think that it would be great to see how long all of us could live here together. Well, today really gave me a new appreciation for how other cultural groups that share their family life together can make it work and be of value to all..

    Goodnight, IAFN, or is it really good morning already, and should I just stay up and make breakfast and them go to bed. . . mmmn

    Nay

    Reply

  4. Posted by Heather M on June 29, 2010 at 5:28 am

    We’re in MI and we’re driving to MN next month. I’m stopping at 2 online friend’s houses and in general it will be a good time. Other than that, we are planning on the water park in Ohio, the aquarium in Ohio and that’s about it as far as vacation goes. My daughter is 3 so she’s not so eager to get out of the house all the time.

    Reply

  5. Posted by jennifer carter on June 29, 2010 at 10:11 am

    There arent any official plans for summer vacation in our household. The reality is unemployment doesnt fund vacations especially when the unemployment is on hold bcuz the senate cant pass the extention bill. So right now my family and i are in survival mode. The children are in activities like baseball, swimming and park activities, so they have fun things to do. Hopefully things will change for the better.

    Reply

  6. Hi,
    I am Nicole Weaver, the author of ” Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle” I want to publicly thank Kanesha for hosting this giveaway. I went on vacation the first week two weeks of June. We stayed at a beach front resort near South Beach in Florida. We love the ocean. While in Florida, I visited with my cousins and sister. It was truly a grand time. Have a happy and safe summer!

    Nicole Weaver
    Children’s Author
    http://outskirtspress.com/nicoleweaver
    http://www.authorsden.com/nicoleweaver
    http://www.jacketflap.com/basket
    Freelance writer
    http://associatedcontent.com/nicoleweaver
    http://readyabletolearnfrenchspanish.blogspot.com
    http://support4usparentsofhaitianorphans.blogspot.com

    Reply

  7. Posted by dana on June 29, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    We just got back from a three week house trade in the Bay Area. The first half of the trip I was alone with the kids and Joe joined us for the second half. I was worried about spending 10 days alone with the kids, but was able to really sink in and truly be with them without having to be somewhere at a particular time or feel rushed etc. The three of us had such an amazing time just being and checking out all the fun stuff in the bay area-including the 5 different carousel rides, ferry rides, hikes in the redwoods, smelling honeysuckle and jasmine, freezing our butts off at San Francisco beaches and just enjoying living in someone elses home for a while. It also really helped that the house came with a nanny! It was nice to just have some guilt free time to hang out with old friends and finish a sentence.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Noreen on June 30, 2010 at 8:39 am

    We’re going on a multigenerational vacation with my parents to Telluride at the end of July. They live on the east coast and we’re in colorado so it’s a nice chance to visit and go on an adventure together.
    Happy Summer everyone!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Gloria "GG" Davis on June 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Hi,
    It appears that I will be attending several reunions this summer. Already, I have gone to my home town in Lake Providence, LA for a school reunion that included the classes of 1939 through 1973. It was May 28, 29 & 30th, it was a joyous occasion to see so many people. I stayed there until June 3 and returned to St. Louis. I began my trip by flying to St. Louis, MO to stay over night with my ex-husband’s aunt and we got up the next day and rode down south to the reunion with a close friend who did all the driving. I am not very fond of taking road trips but this trip was not too bad.
    On Friday, July 2, I plan to take a mini trip to Waukegan. IL for a family reunion to visit with cousins on my grandfather’s side of the family. I guess my other part of my multigenerational summer will be when I go to Waukesha, WI on July 12th to spend a week to babysit my three grandchildren while their dad goes to San Diego, CA for job related business and their mother goes to work. During the third week of August, I am hosting a reunion with a group of classmates from Indiana who are coming over to visit with other classsmates. They have not seen each other in 42 years. This should be a great celebration. In September, I have plans to go to Albuquerque, NM with a favorite classmate to visit family. My friend is excited about taking the trip because she has never been to Albuquerque.

    GG

    Reply

  10. Posted by Annel Justiniano on June 30, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Hello Everyone,
    I am currently getting ready for my multigenerational vacation. Although my parents do not live with us, they take care of my children everyday so that my husband and I can go to work, and we spend more time together than appart. Every vacation since we’ve had children has been multigenerational and this year we are headed to Puerto Rico to visit my Dad’s family and more importantly for my children to spend time with their great grandmother. I am very lucky to have my parents and that they get along so well with my husband. We hope to some day when my Dad is ready for retirement to live in a multigenerational household, so thank you for your words of wisdom and your insights. I have really enjoyed reading about your experiences.
    Annel

    Reply

    • You are so welcome – it really has worked very well for both of us! Have a wonderful vacation Annel! I am leaving for my own family reunion next week and will have my parents and my mom’s sister and husband, cousins, etc with us – should be a hoot – we all stay in a big house and will either be in the pool (we will be in AZ) or inside cooking. Glad that you like the blog!

      Reply

  11. Congratulations, Gloria (GG)!
    You are the winner of our book GIVEAWAY!!!
    Please send your mailing address to us: itsafullnest@yahoo.com.

    Thank you, everyone for entering.

    Have a great summer and keep reading!

    Don’t want to miss out on another giveaway? Be sure to subscribe to http://www.itsafullnest.com to keep current.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

