Sex camp has come and gone…back to reality

by Kanesha

I had breakfast with a good friend in early June and I said,

“Guess what? Hubby and I get six and half days alone because my mother-in-law is taking the kids with her on vacation!”

My friend’s response,

“Oh my God! You’re going to sex camp!”

Honeymoon. Couple’s retreat. Bonding time. Date night. Sex camp.

You can label it however you want.

The point is, hubby and I got it and boy did we maximize it! Six and a half days for ourselves to do basically whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted, and however we wanted. Woo hoo!

When my mother-in-law mentioned, early in the year, she wanted to take the kids with her on vacation, I thought it was a good idea. When she mentioned the length of time, I was a bit taken aback. I had never been away from the kids for such a long period of time. Any time away from them was three days max.

And then I thought about it some more…hubby goes on work trips that are as short as one day and as long as seven straight weeks. The kids still know and love him when he returns.

So heck, yes, I could ship them off with my mother-in-law. What an awesome multigenerational perk! And as I thought even more about it, my own mother used to ship me off to Mississippi or Michigan for an entire summer.

As far as financial logistics, we paid for our kids’ plane tickets and gave the oldest some spending money – and away they went. My mother-in-law would send picture messages and texts about what the kids were doing. It was a sweet check-in for me, and honestly, I didn’t miss the kids too terribly because I was at “camp”!

Now the “honeymoon” is over and it’s back to regular life with all family members  in full attendance. I do have great flashbacks to the freedom and fun hubby and I had during our six and half day retreat.

Here are our top six items of fun:

Do I even have to say it…

Consuming multiple bottles

Picnic at the pool


Parisian macarons cooking class


Bike rental and peddling around the city


Cooking dinner together



2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joy on June 27, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    All of the food looks super delicious! I am licking my screen! Lord knows, Scott and I need to go to “sex camp.” And soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

