Happy Mother’s Day

Mother’s day weekend! A time-honored tradition and not just because Hallmark said so!

What a glorious time to celebrate, honor and pamper mom. But WHICH mom?

In a multigenerational household, does one mom rank higher than the other mom? Do all the mother’s day celebrations have to involve BOTH moms?

Kanesha:  For us, there will be DESSERT involved, hopefully from Gateaux (are you reading this hubby?) or something homemade by my mother-in-law (she’s an AMAZING baker) . We will most likely visit Denver Botanic Gardens and have a picnic.

Now of course I have not checked any of this out with hubby, so I may not know WHAT is going on this weekend. Needless to say, I don’t mind celebrating mother’s day side by side with my mother-in-law. She helps me be a great mom (and wife) and why wouldn’t I want her at the “party”? Plus, I get to gaze at and sniff  the beautiful roses she received from Mother’s Day!

Margot:  Hubby and I made the pumpkin pancakes together for the kids this morning.  Then I am going to FINALLY plant some vegetables and herbs in the backyard.  (Mint for sure – love mojitos!  Basil, thyme, cilantro, tomatoes and zucchini.)  And then I will be cooking dinner tonight for my mom – her favorite – salmon.  Dessert is some delicious concoction I found at COSTCO – something with fruit, key lime custard, a graham cracker crust.   There is no rest on Mother’s Day when mom, daughter and granddaughter are all in the same house!

We wonder what Michelle Obama and Marian Robinson will be doing on Sunday…

Happy Mother’s day from us to you!

Kanesha & Margot

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nawatsie on May 11, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Great job on launching your own Blog with Margot. It is a wonderful choice and a great subject to share your insights and to show how multigenerational support can be a family value.

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

