Healthy multigenerational living = a reprieve

by Kanesha

As busy and working parents, hubby and I know uninterrupted time with our children is a luxury and a priority. As I’ve mentioned before with our multigenerational household, hubby and I make a point to create a space for nuclear family time.

This weekend we decided to head to the mountains and rent a rustic cabin. We wanted some private time, with just the four of us, to play, create, maintain connections and *unplug.

The rustic cabin. There were 3 beds, a table with 4 folding chairs, a ceiling fan-light and electricity.

When I asked my 11-year-old what she thought about this trip, she said,

“It’s important for us break-up our multigenerational family time because you get to do big family stuff and then spend independent time with fewer family members. You get a chance to do different things and just take a little time off. I don’t know. It’s just a good idea to have the breaks.”

My kiddos dancing and playing with the AEROBIE.

In Tips for Multigenerational Households, Elizabeth Mullins said something similar:

“Figure out what is family time, personal time and big extended family time. For instance, we like to all have dinner together a few nights a week but my daughter, husband and I still want a few nights just to ourselves.”

For our nuclear family getaway, my mother-in-law helped us prepare by grocery shopping, helping with the laundry, and purchasing craft supplies.

We love Cherrybrook Kitchen’s products! This is a great food solution for my son’s allergies and the food is tasty!

We had these chicken apple sausages for lunch. Delicious!

Craft supplies for our wreath

I’m sure my mother-in-law was happy to get the house to herself, even though she did not say this out loud.  I imagine living with her active, energetic, and often loud grandchildren is not always the peaceful environment she may crave. Hubby and I are fairly rational and consistent people, and I’m sure time away from us provides a beneficial respite for my mother-in-law as well. And in the words of Thomas Haynes Bayly, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

The weekend was fantastic and the weather was divine. The only hiccups for me were the large spiders and the mouse that wanted to visit us on the porch in the evenings. Fran’s chocolate helped me cope.

We were able to spend a lot of time outside. We talked and laughed a lot, and we ate too much.

The view as we drove around the camping area.

The view from the cabin.

My daughter and I had a great time making a wreath. My friends know how much I love wreaths! We were inspired by A Little Bit of Everything.

My daughter kept saying, “Safety first!”, to her brother.

Yay for electricity! It was great to be able to use the glue gun.

The wreath is now hanging on our door at home.

We are looking forward to our next trip to the rustic cabins and maybe my mother-in-law will join us.

*About unplugging:

We did use my laptop to play music and watch evening movies. And…I used my phone to text (a tiny bit) and to send my mother-in-law some status updates on craft projects. That’s pretty good for us!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vicki Piers on October 4, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Where did you go? Looks like you had a great weekend?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

